Mind Blown

So, I’ve been sewing since 2011.

I started sewing when my Mother in Law moved in with us after she had knee surgery.  She sews, and Dax was like hey, maybe you could sew, because no other hobby that I’d tried so far really stuck long term.  (apparently avid tv watching and video games didn’t count as a hobby, I disagree)

At this point I’ve been sewing for about 5 years.  Which, yea, pretty cool, I know. 😉  I learned the basics from my Mother in Law, including how to even thread a machine or wind a bobbin.  At first I couldn’t even sew in a straight line, or remember to put the presser foot down!  After a while, I eventually caught on to what she was teaching me, and kind of hit the ground running.  And by the ground, I mean the internet, namely YouTube and Pinterest.

rainbow road
Actual footage of me, going into the internet

So in that time I’ve made a bunch of stuff.  Like a bunch of stuff.  Not only have I made a bunch of stuff, I joined a guild that I’m currently the president of (also cool), I opened an Etsy shop, been in a few craft fairs (and a whole bunch coming up this year, including this Saturday!)

I’ve also immersed myself in learning as much as I possibly could about sewing, quilting and the like.  If I can’t figure something out on my own, I’ll ask anyone I can imagine.  I watch way too much YouTube to figure out different techniques, to see how other people do things that I do, etc.  Ask anyone in my guild, I have a MQG Webinar addiction, but they’re so helpful!  It’s like taking a class that you don’t have to pay for, and you’re not going to be graded on it, so you can take as much or as little away from it as you’d like.

So, why’s my mind blown?  I feel like I’m becoming a person that other people come to when they have questions.  What kind of thread should I use for this, what type of quilting would you use here, how do you do this, do these colors go together?  That totally  blows me away!  I guess because until just recently I’ve dealt with people not wanting my opinions or suggestions on how to do things, and now people are coming to me asking me things. What is even crazier is that I actually have answers for these seemingly random questions, like what is modern traditionalism?

I am not trying to brag with this post, but I am reflecting on how far I’ve come in the past five years of sewing. If you ever need a reminder that you’ve gotten better at something, just look back at one of your first projects. I’ve looked back at a few of my first bags and I am so glad I didn’t give up. A few of my first stuffed animals look more like monsters, and I still have not finished my very first quilt! But Al likes to lay on it, so it isn’t a complete loss.

I’m also grateful for all the opportunities I’ve had in the past five years that have helped me to cultivate such a fun hobby.  I guess what I’m trying to get at is that if you want to be good at something, don’t feel like you need to spend a fortune doing it.  There are tons of free resources out there to help you get to where you want to go.  Do you ever look back on how far you’ve come?  Do you just focus on how far you have to go?  I still do that, too!  Let me know below!

Until next time, happy sewing!

2 thoughts on “Mind Blown

  1. I’m constantly looking back at all the progress I’ve made. My first sewing experience ever was my infant daughter’s Tinkerbell costume… organza, satin, tulle and zero clue! I wish I’d known then what I know now! — Also, I joined my local MQG and I’ve already signed up for ALL THE WEBINARS! I feel ya on that one! 😉

Tell me what you think!

